Fall Market 2015: Part 1

I am finally getting back to my blog (of one post). Oops! I promise to be better…..I promise! (see my goals at the end)

Market may be one of my favorite things to do as a sewer. It’s a time for everyone in the profession to get a chance to hang out and see what’s coming. And I love it! It’s like the night before Christmas. I can’t sleep and I get giddy with excitement to see all of my friends.

This year I got a chance to help out a few different companies and make some samples that were seen across the market floor. It’s so much fun to walk around and see all the projects I got to work on.

IMG_3862

SewCaroline’s Chalk and Paint Booth for Art Gallery Fabric

Caroline Hulse of Sew Caroline asked me to make a few things out of her Chalk and Paint Fabric for AFG booth and gave me the freedom to create whatever I wanted. I pulled out the trusty sketchbook and got to drawing. I ended up making all of the pillows seen above, the Noodlehead bag on the bottom left, and the Noodlehead clutch right below “paint” (both bags are from Noodlehead’s book Handmade Style Book). It was so much fun to just create without a task in mind!
IMG_3840

SewCaroline’s Chalk and Paint Booth for Art Gallery Fabric

Next up, I got to work with Windham Fabrics new line Flower Pedals by Carolyn Gavin. The new line is so fun and playful. I made a Noodlehead Super Tote and two Noodlehead Envelope Clutch. (Yes, I’m a huge NH fan, I mean her patterns are just too well written to not be!) These patterns were picked by Windham, but happen to be two of my favorites that I’ve made for myself and gifts.
I made a quilt for Windham and a few items for Thermoweb but in the chaos that is market, I forgot to snag pictures. Once I get it all back, I’ll be sure to post a few!
…..
One of my favorite parts of going to market is getting to take my mom and partner in crime with me. She’s the reason I started quilting and getting to experience it all with her is by far the best.
This year we did fall market right. We arrived the night before schoolhouse (30 minute previews from designers and companies) and got ready for our jam-packed schoolhouse/sample spree Friday.
IMG_3751

SewCaroline’s Chalk and Paint Booth for Art Gallery Fabric

Ok schoolhouse was AMAZING! It was our first time going and we just had a blast. Being pregnant slowed me down a bit and we had to take a few more breaks than I had anticipated but it was still fun.

 

We made it to all of our favorites: Angela Walter’s Fractional for Robert Kaufman, Jeni Baker’s new book for Lucky Spool, Carolyn Friedlander’s Carkai for Robert Kaufman, Sassafras Lane’s new BOM, and Elizabeth Hartman’s Pacific for Robert Kaufman. They were all phenomenal.

By the end of schoolhouse I was EXHAUSTED. And beyond INSPIRED…but we had one thing left to do…..

………..SAMPLE SPREE!!!!

Sample spree is a crazy time for shops and industry peeps to have an opportunity to purchase fabric and notions before they have hit general public. It’s a lot of fun but kindof like a stampede. Of fabric loving crazy people.

This year mom and I braved the long wait and made it to our third sample spree. It did not disappoint. We aren’t as crazy as most, but we always try to catch some of the goods: Robert Kaufman, Windham, Cotton and Steel….

IMG_3787

SewCaroline’s Chalk and Paint Booth for Art Gallery Fabric

…and then I passed out.

Whew!

One long post for the first one in almost a year! Thanks for sticking with me!

Goals: a post a week plus a tutorial a month. I’ve gotta set some type of parameter!!!!

Next up…..

Fall Market: Part 2

-Kristen

 

Leave a Reply

