Art Gallery Inspired Nursery

My sweet baby boy Carter Lee has arrived and man are we smitten! My husband and I waited until we were almost 30 to have our first child and I’m so glad we did. It worked out perfect for us.

One of the best parts about preparing for our little one was creating the nursery I had dreamed of. I knew my colors would be a mix of orange and blue. I wanted it to be a more urban style nursery to fit our apartment look. I chose to use April Rhodes Wanderer fabric as my base line for colors and design, while using Elizabeth Hartman’s Fancy Fox Pattern as the key design element.

IMG_0005

I decided to take on making everything from scratch. The fox on the wall is a pattern by Shannon Brinkley using her scrappy bits appliqué technique. The crib sheet and changing pad cover were free patterns I found on pinterest. The quilt is Elizabeth Hartman’s Fancy Fox Pattern. I couldn’t waste any part of the fabric so I used the selvage pieces to make a rug. All the pillows were made using a few patterns and some simple fabric play. (noodlehead pillow pattern from her book everyday style and a simple take on modern handcrafts pillow here) The C sign on the wall my dad and I painted and assembled together. I absolutely love how it all came together!

IMG_0014

When picking out a changing table/dresser, I knew that a traditional table wasn’t what I was looking for. I decided to go with just a dresser that could grow with the room. My dad and I made the Texas and the initial wood signs. A sweet friend of mine painted the watercolor fox and the chalk sign. I added the fabric “banner” using a stick from outside and scraps from my quilt. I had so much fun putting this together and I absolutely love how it turned out! See the star wars Mickey?!? My husband brought it back from his work trip for our little man. What a sweetie!

The last spot for design was the bathroom. I chose to stick with the orange from the room and add mint/teal. The woodland animals are designed and printed by Bonnie Christine. The initials/arrow were created by one of my best friends for my baby shower and I just had to incorporate them into the room!

Ok so I kindof love how the room turned out. I love sitting in there rocking my little man and dreaming of seeing him play in there as he gets older. And to show off our cutie….

IMG_0178

Happy Tuesday-Kristen

Leave a Reply

