Christmas in July with Windham Fabrics

Happy Friday Crafters!

It’s Christmas time!!…

ok.

Not really! But…Christmas is my favorite time of year and when Windham asked if I would participate in Christmas in July, I jumped all over it! I have always loved wintertime and the time it brings with our family.

IMG_0805I knew EXACTLY what I was going to make when i got asked…Pajamas! It’s a family tradition to get new pjs the night before Christmas to wear. This year I have this grand plan that I’m going to make pajamas for all of my family, including my inlaws, sil/husband/niece who will be just a month old…and of course my parents and husband and our sweet Carter!!

Because it’s summer and I just couldn’t resist, I made two pairs of super cute pajama shorts so I can go ahead and start rocking them now. The pattern is by SewCaroline in Modern Holiday Magazine a year or so ago.

IMG_0804

I just love them! They will be worn from now until Christmas, especially since Texas doesn’t ever get that cold.

Now for the best part…

*Giveaway for two lucky commenters! The wonderful people at Windham are giving me a bundle of each fabric I used: Storybook Christmas and Craft Paper Christmas. Leave a comment telling me your favorite holiday tradition and I will pick two winners, one bundle  for each next Wednesday. (you have from now to Tuesday midnight CST to enter, us residents only at this time!)

Thanks for coming to hang out and happy crafting!!

xox-Kristen

41 thoughts on “Christmas in July with Windham Fabrics

  1. Kathy h says:

    Our favorite tradition for Christmas is when we drive through the neighborhoods that put out luminaries on Christmas Eve. We sing or have carols on the radio.

    Like

  2. Christine says:

    My favorite holiday tradition has always been seeing the younger children opening their gifts. Thanks for the chance to win.

    Like

  3. Tina says:

    I love to go out in the forest with the family to pick our Christmas tree. It’s a great tradition in Montana where it really feels like Christmas!

    Like

  4. Chiska says:

    We love to go up to the mountains to get a tree. It started with my husband and I the first year we were married. He wanted to go back down a different way from how we’d come up. We got into snow that we sunk into up to our hips. We had to take a step and pick up the tree together and throw it every step. Needless to say he doesn’t get to choose the way back now and we ALWAYS have a sled to help drag the tree. Such fun times!

    Like

  5. My favorite tradition is making the Christmas Dinner. I love doing the candy and cookies before hand my favorite treat is Baklava. I am so happy that I am seeing the traditional greens and reds in these collections. I love your shorts! Thank you for the inspiration. janie(dot)mccombs(at)yahoo(dot)com

    Like

  6. Before I got married and had children. I would go over my sister house on Christmas Eve and help her & her husband wrap Christmas gifts to early in the morning. Then we would have Christmas breakfast together before going to see our mom. Now the kids are grown and they want gift cards, but my family still comes over for Christmas breakfast. BIG BIG SMILE

    Like

  7. Nancy Scott says:

    I love celebrating Christmas. My traditions usually change based on my hospital work schedule. Nonetheless we celebrate!

    Like

  8. Kathleen says:

    Well, it used to be going to my mom’s and eating massive quantities of homemade Christmas cookies, but now she can’t do that anymore. So my two adult daughters and myself have taken up the tradition. We get together at my house and the three of us make massive quantities of cookies and share them with family and friends.
    Thanks for the opportunity to win!
    kakingsbury at verizon dot net

    Like

  9. Sharon Browne says:

    OMG! My favorite tradition was also getting a new pair of pajamas each Christmas that my grandmother would make for us. I can’t believe you also had this same tradition! I love the Storybook line especially.

    Like

  10. spatch says:

    Always, always love our Christmas Day dinner with the family. Daughter who was born on Christmas gets to choose what we eat. Always asks for Roast Lamb, mashed potatoes and lots of gravy and most of all…….Yorkshire pudding! Love your Storybook Christmas pattern and using it for a hand tied quilt.

    Like

  11. Alexa says:

    Christmas is my favorite time of year. Wil my siblings and I being in school and fily all over the place in different stages of life, Christmas is the one time of year we all get to see each other. I love seeing gifts as their gifts and baking Christmas cookies galore. My favorite tradition growing up was not being allowed down to see the gifts until 8, then at 8 we were allows to wake my parents to finally go open presents.

    Like

  12. Nancy says:

    We still drag our boys (ages 21 and 23) for a photo with the local shopping mall’s Santa. We use it in a calendar that we gift the grandparents each year!

    Like

  13. My favorite tradition is to spend Christmas morning with my grandsons. We open presents and then have a Christmas brunch! I like your Christmas shorts!
    nikilsend(at)outlook(dot)com

    Like

  14. Kris Bolick says:

    Christmas breakfast with our family is my favorite tradition before we open presents. It st as red several years ago with my parents – in-law coming to watch the open of gifts. And now my children have their own places they come home for the traditional breakfast.

    Like

  15. MARY D says:

    I make many hand made gifts for my family & friends for our Christmas celebration. They are all wrapped and we play bingo for everyone to win a gift. This is a big highlight in our event as everyone waits to see what handmade item they can win. This past year I switched to trivia for dummies and used a lot of questions that the children could answer. I had everyone grouped by colored teams. It was a blast. Everyone raved about it. We will repeat the format this year.

    tushay3 (at) yahoo (dot) com

    Like

  16. Anita M. says:

    My favorite tradition is having the family over on Christmas Day! So far, everyone has been able to come! Thanks for the drawing!

    Like

  17. Daniela M says:

    Our favorite tradition is to have meal that includes paper thin homemade wafers (oplatky), fried fish, potato salad, and kolace (yeast pastry filled with poppyseed or walnut filling).

    Like

  18. One of my boys was really good at guessing what was in the boxes under the Christmas tree, so I started numbering the gifts and I put the number in a tiny gift wrapped box and put them in their stockings, so they had to open the boxes in their stocking to know which gift was theirs. That particular son now uses that method for his children.

    Like

  19. Shirley Clark says:

    Our favorite tradition is that we still hand the stocking our two children used as kids. We kept them here since they have their own families.

    Like

  20. Lynn D in NC says:

    My favorite tradition is decorating the tree, we have a party with snacks and beverages. Everyone remembers ornaments from the past, where we found them, made them, what trip we were on when purchased, or why they were significant. I’m not a decorator tree person, I like the memories associated with each individual ornament.

    Like

  21. Alyssa says:

    My favorite tradition has always been getting a real tree. We’ve had a few mishaps that made it less than enjoyable (spider nest that hatched and covered the tree in webs, cat knocking it over, etc) but there’s nothing like the real tree scent.

    Like

  22. Hey lady! We always have a huge family dinner and gifts on Christmas Eve. My favorite is that I have always made a point that we are home on Christmas morning. I just like that I always had to travel when I was little and I didn’t want my kiddo doing that. We always have Christmas morning at our house.

    Like

  23. My favorite tradition started when my niece was little. We have always opened our gifts on Christmas eve and since she was little she needed gifts from Santa on Christmas morning. I would stay up to put Santa’s gifts in her stocking and under the tree. As she got older I kept up the tradition but at about age 10 things changed. Christmas morning there were gifts under the tree for everyone that stayed overnight, all from Santa. Nowadays we might have a house full that stay over night but you can bet that Santa always leaves one or two gifts for each person and fills their stocking. Funny thing is that with all the noise going on all through the wee hours you would think someone could catch him in the act.

    Like

  24. usairdoll says:

    Your Christmas PJ’s are lovely! Great job!
    Our tradition would be to open our gifts on Christmas morning.

    Thanks for a chance to win. Fingers crossed ;-D

    usairdoll(at)gmail(dot)com

    Like

Leave a Reply

